7 independent reviews for Isle of Wight self catering accommodation3.5 star rating

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through our-land.co.uk. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.

Lucia Whalley review 8 Aug 20141 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


This is our second time (in as many years) at the granary and we love the village. However, sadly we won't be returning as the owner does not want us. I advise that this is therefore not a suitable holiday let for young families. Apart from the stairs, I think that the owner would rather adults who will not make full use of the house and facilities offered.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Save the last day of your holiday for cleaning, if you'd like to return back. Vacuuming, cleaning the kitchen, putting out the rubbish - the usual you would expect for a holiday let - is not enough here. Indeed, you must leave it cleaner than you found it. Dust where the cleaners haven't! Clean the fridge when the cleaners have maybe just wiped...but best of all, don't use the facilities, other than the bed and shower. Eat out!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes, we spent a lot of money in the local shop! Ate out at a lovely bistro and used local transport. The bistro is also a B&B and I would suggest that anyone visiting the area should stay there. It has a central village location and is run by a lovely couple. We intend to stay there next time in Brightstone.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We thought it was perfect with no car and two small children. I had thought Teresa who runs the cottage was incredibly understanding. However, it turns out that the unreliable taxi firm which Teresa uses (it's part of the deal that taxi is covered in the booking) penalises you. I spoke and texted frequently when the booking was made and then the car didn't show up. When I got through to him he denied he was even him, despite being his mobile number, and I was stranded with 2 small children (1 and 3) at the Red Jet terminal. I made alternative arrangements, Teresa said the cost was similar and would cover the costs. This has now been held against me. Also, the shower rail collapsed on me early in the holiday. it is just a cheap suction pole and I realise now I should have tried to fix it. However Teresa advises you contact her handyman with issues, which I did. But this is now being held against me as she evidently incurred a charge. It must have been a 30 second job in retrospect.

Lastly, we made a concerted effort to leave the cottage in a clean and tidy state and even vacuumed - which I am sure most who stay there do not. It certainly was not dust free when we arrived. Now we have been told it was not sufficiently
clean. I should have realised how pathetic the hire was when you have to provide your own loo roll. Penny pinching and miserly. I will certainly be back in Brighstone and am going to call an alternative B&B in the village to book today!

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks Lucia for sharing your feedback so openly. I’m delighted that you and your family enjoy the Isle of Wight and Brighstone so much and support our local village. We do welcome families and this is why we provide a cot, high chair, stair gate, ample toilet roll (I thought!) and I bought a brand new cot mattress at your request for your first stay. We have a fantastic cleaner / caretaker husband and wife team whose high standards have been commented on by other guests and are always happy to help – you only have to read our Visitors Book. We did have a lot of cleaning up to do after you left and we should have just got on with it. I’m truly sorry that I reacted badly to this incident. I do try and help people who travel to the island without a car. I thought that laying on taxis was a good idea but this really does not work when guests are delayed. In this case poor communication on both sides left my taxi driver waiting for you and thus I paid both you and the taxi driver as compensation. I have discontinued the taxi service offer now and will replace it with free foot passenger ferry tickets in future for guests travelling without a car.

Sue Adams review 13 Jul 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Finding our lovely cottage which was kitted out with everything you could wish for...above all the peace and quite...lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared to be chilled out on your return.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


The locals were brilliant from the village stores where we picked up the keys to the little restaurant that did a splendid fish an chip supper to take away.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It is a lovely cottage if you want some lovely walks and near to most things if you want to drive. We loved it.

jo morris review 20 Jun 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The kids thoroughly enjoyed the fast boat out to the needles.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


I would have a few outings planned before arrival if you have young kids as you need to go out and explore.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Not really.


4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We loved it. We would definitely go back.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to return! However, we are disappointed that you did not notice how we support our local community and the environment. We are most proud of our village shop which has an excellent selection of local produce and supplies our welcome hamper, how we encourage wildlife into the garden via our pond, bird feeders and nest box, adoption of the island’s new waste collection scheme where recycling rates have tripled since its introduction in January 2012 and promotion of public transport through our partnership with the ferry companies and a local taxi company - see “How we make a difference” for much more.

Jane Haynes review 25 Sep 20115 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Arriving at our holiday cottage and discovering it exceeded our expectations in every way. Also the wonderful sunset whilst having supper at the Sun Inn in Hulverstone.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring your walking boots as the island is so full of footpaths which are clearly marked. Also the buses are frequent and well-supported by locals and holiday-makers alike so try leaving the car behind and come over by ferry as a foot-passenger. A car-free holiday would be wonderful and is really possible here. Do the walk from Freshwater Bay (have coffee first at the Dandelion Cafe) to The Needles on a blue-sky day for stunning views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes definitely. We shopped locally on a daily basis (didn't go near a supermarket the whole holiday). The Welcome Pack and key collection arrangement from our local shop certainly encouraged this. We walked to our local pubs and ate there. We visited local open gardens on foot and supported venues such as Ventnor Botanic Gardens and The Garlic Farm. Found all the staff at these places friendly and welcoming. Within our cottage we followed the recycling system and took on board the suggestions to conserve water and save energy. If the cottage was mine I would remove the bath with the shower attachment overhead and fit a walk-in shower only to further conserve water and heat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


10 out of 10 at least!! We cannot wait to come back soon. The Visitor's Book in our cottage was full of praise for the cottage.

Christopher Vasey review 16 Apr 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The shear enjoyment of walking the lovely Isle of Wight countryside and sea shore and visiting some of the islands excellent hostelries.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If possible try to use the local bus services, They are not particularly frequent but by intelligent use of the Vectis timetables, you can visit everything on the island without any difficulty.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


By not taking our car we feel we benefitted the local environment. As we were self catering we shopped locally in Brighstone and ate at local pubs. We made sure we observed all the recommendations in the cottage brochure regarding saving water, energy etc and tried to recycle as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had a lovely time. My parents took me to the island nearly 60 years ago, we brought our children here and they loved it and it is still a great place to go.

Jennifer Geraghty review 23 Oct 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The coastal walks, Roman villas and trip to Osborne house.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


To check bus timetables before going as they finnish early.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


It benefited the local people as we used the local shop very often and visited the museum there. The property was a short walk away from the village and had messages reminding you of the environment all over the property.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had a good time on the Island and would like to explore the Island more.

John Spiegelman review 28 Mar 20085 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Walking along the seaside cliffs near the cottage.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring your raingear!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


We gave the town business (through the pubs, etc.), so it benefited the people and we also did not use a car for 8 days.

Read the operator's response here:

It does not always rain on the Isle of Wight - a survey to determine the quality of life across Great Britain has named the Isle of Wight second only to Eastbourne as the sunniest place in the country. The study, undertaken by the Halifax, noted that the Isle of Wight enjoyed an average of 34.2 hours of sunshine a week.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust our-land.co.uk reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

5 stars
I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
4 stars
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
3 stars
Very enjoyable
2 stars
It was OK
1 star
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies